RDRAM or DDR? (will need new mobo if DDR)

branflakes

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2003
While playing games, specifically BF1942, I run out of virtual memory while playing. Right now I am using 256MB PC800 RDRAM on a Pentium 4 Processor at 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2. I want this upgrade to last me a while since I am a college student, and I don't when I'm gonna have the cash to do these upgrades again... thus I want something that will last me as long as possible.

Therefor,
(1)I was wondering if I should drop the 200$ and add 512MB of RD, or get a new mobo and go with DDR?

(2)_and_ if I should just go with DDR, what mobo should I get? I know just about nothing about mobos however. A few friends have recommended going with DDR and getting one of these mobo's:

Soyo SY-P4I865PE Plus Dragon 2 i865PE P4 (800FSB)- http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=241416

or
Asus P4P800 Deluxe - http://www.asus.com/products/mb/socket478/p4p800-d/overview.htm

I don't want to spend too much, but around 200$ for the total package is okay. I'd rather not go too far over that though. Any help would be.... helpful. ;] Thanks.

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
i would not upgrade your mobo until you upgrade your cpu...

the mobo change will really not give you much if any performance increase...

also remember that rdram must be installed in pairs...

in order to get any performance gain from switching boards you must use two pc2100 (or faster) modules and use them in dual channel...although....i would go for 2x pc3200 (good quality of course) modules...so that you can upgrade to the low end prescotts...

If you do not use two modules rdram will actually provide better performance!

If i put my k6 in a Ferrari it would be faster than your your pentium 4 or Athlon XP :tongue:

Za_Goof

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2003