Opinions: Mobo Manufacturer Quality

skubik

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2001
I'm curious as to what peoples opinions or experiences are in terms of quality of motherboards, primarily in terms of stability from one manufacturer to another. I've been running an old Asus P5A (Socket 7) for almost 4 years now and have NEVER had any problems with it, it's been rock-solid since Day 1, and wonder whether other boards by other manufacturers to meet this expectation. I'm specifically curious about Gigabyte Vs. MSI.

- skubik.

xeenrecoil

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2003
heya skubik;

As you probably realize there is going to be a difference between brands as far as quality goes.

Asus has always been a high quality board manufacturer, wether it be motherboards or graphics cards.

Individule people have their prefrences, as it comes down to personal experiance between, what brands you have and havent tried, and the success with that specific product.

Both Gigabyte and MSI are good offerings, as well as some others like Abit, and A-Open.

My best advice is, If Asus has worked well for you in the past then stick with it.

<font color=blue> <b> <Capt Archer> Can't this thing go any faster i thought this was a Warp 5 Engine!
<Trip> Yeah, on paper! </b> </font color=blue>

smitbret

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2002
Gigabyte has had a few problems in the past, mostly due to the VIA chipset, if I remember correctly. Still, the always seemes to run hotter than other boards I've used. I've always been partial to MSI and Abit.
-Brett

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Asus did make some garbage, such as the P4S8X, which had a poorly designed memory bus.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Spitfire_x86

Splendid
Jun 26, 2002
I've owned Gigabyte, MSI and ABIT mobos.