Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Games on windows 7 64-bit

Last response: in Video Games
November 15, 2009 12:32:44 PM

What do people think of the new Dell/Alienware Area 51? Sounds ludicrously powerful:

Microsoft Operating System
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit- English

1.8GB NVIDIA® GeForce™ GTX260 graphics card

Memory
6GB 1066MHz (3x2GB) Tri Channel Memory

Hard Drive
640 GB Serial ATA non Raid (7200 Rpm)

But would all applications/games etc work on the 64-bit windows?

xmrb2003x

More about : games windows bit

November 15, 2009 2:40:23 PM

I've been gaming on 64 bit since Dec 2007 (Vista, now W7) and have never found any problems at all. You cannot run 32 bit drivers on a 64 bit system, but you can run 32 bit programs no problem so you should be fine. I believe there are one or two games that use a 16 bit installer (which won't work) but then you're going back to a handful released pre-XP.

Do you have a particular list of games/apps you're worried about? Anything modern will work, but if you've got a favourite old school one that you're worried about, post it up and someone's sure to have tried it before.

As for Alienware - why pay extra for pre-built when you can spec and build one yourself with just the right mix of parts for you? :) 
November 15, 2009 3:17:54 PM

xmrb2003x said:
What do people think of the new Dell/Alienware Area 51? Sounds ludicrously powerful:

Microsoft Operating System
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit- English

1.8GB NVIDIA® GeForce™ GTX260 graphics card

Memory
6GB 1066MHz (3x2GB) Tri Channel Memory

Hard Drive
640 GB Serial ATA non Raid (7200 Rpm)

But would all applications/games etc work on the 64-bit windows?

Ludicrously powerful? Hardly. The only thing ludicrous about it is the price and pairing 1.8 GB's of ram with the GTX 260.

Confused Stu doesn't seem so confused about 64 bit / 31 bit compatibility though.
Related resources
November 16, 2009 9:01:59 AM