Anyone make a non-integrated Mobo?

legb

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2003
I like things simple, maybe because I am simple minded... Does any good, decent mobo manufacturer make a P4 mobo that does not have sound, video, NIC and the kitchen sink built in?

Simple,

Teach a man to build a fire and he will stay warm all night…
Set a man on fire and he will stay warm the rest of his life…

songoku

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2003
I really dought that you can find a Motherboard with out sound. Although getting one with out the others is quite easy. Why do you want to do this? Getting built in items saves on the over all expenses.

Supporting AMD with your breakable stuff.

legb

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2003
I have a lot of experience with Dell machines at work. The integrated stuff tends to go bad. I know this is not a good argument, but I like having the flexibility to change out a sound card or a new video card. Just an observation I have seen as I am searching for a new P4 board.

Teach a man to build a fire and he will stay warm all night…
Set a man on fire and he will stay warm the rest of his life…

pIII_Man

Splendid
Mar 19, 2003
hehe thats cause dell prolly uses shitty mobos...

the sound on most current mobos is excellent...

the nics are fine...

but the video definitly sux...

Proud owner of DOS 3.3 :smile:

Flinx

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2001
Nobody gets integrated video if they intend any serious or semiserious gaming or other graphic applications.