System slow - not sure what the problem could be??

luckyclover

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2003
Hi, I'm new to all of this, so please be patient with me....
with that said...

This is my system.....
MoBo = MSI AMD Athlon XP2100+ VIA KT400 Ultra - with onboard sound
FSB set to = 133 with other bios settings default
VideoCard = MSI MS-8894 128mb 8xAGP TI420
HardDrive = Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm Ultra ATA/100
Memory = Corsair CMX512-3200C2 Ultra Performance DDR XMS3200 512mb 400Mhz CL2
OS = Windows 98SE
Case = (I think) Intel ATX 12V

Problem....
System is slow and mouse is stuttering on movement at various times - mostly when loading internet explorer or any other program
- have also recently had problems with system crash - reformatted hard drive via different computer and re-installed windows, also tried to mess with Bios and messed up system - had to reboot with jumper....

Please help, I have tried almost everything... I have a basic knowledge of computers. I'm trying to educate myself and fix it myself!!!! Spent the past three days working on it, with the above results.... HELP!
Could it possibly be my operating system - need to upgrade to XP?
Thanks for your help it is greatly appreciated!
LC

luckyclover

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2003
Oh, and I am not necessarily looking to overclock my system, just seems to be hangin up and working really slow for the specs it has.... Thanks! LC

raging_redneck

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2002
have you tried upping the Dram voltage, and if that doesn't work up the cpu voltage to see if it will stabilize your computer, can you tell me what type of Powersupply you have. Oh and Have you tried different types of ram?

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Raging_redneck on 09/09/03 05:28 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

luckyclover

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2003
Raging_redneck,
the Dram voltage? I'm guessing I'd adjust these settings in the bios? If so, is there a certain number I should set these to?