Confused ICT student in need of help! lol

dizzy

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2003
Hi there, I mite sound a little stupid to u guys, but i searched and found this site and wondered if some of you may be able to help me. I am an A-Level ICT student, and have coursework to do about computer hardware. Now, i am more of a sofware person myself and don't really know anything about motherboards and processors and sound cards and things.

The main thing I need to know really is what makes one motherboard better than another? What makes one cost £60 and one cost £500? I hope someone will be able to explain it a little in normal english! lol

It would also help alot of someone could advise me on which are the best sound cards and graphics cards? ta!
thanks
-Liz

arsend

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2001
Hello dizzy, The cost of a motherboard is determined by 3 major factors, brandname, quality of the components, and the many features that they can have. Here a few examples.

Brand Names:
Processors: you have 2 main types of processors, those from Intel called Pentium 4, Celeron and Zeon. And those from AMD, mainly called the Atholon, and the Opteron.
Most concermers on the budget end by the Celeron and Atholon processors, as they are not as fast, while mainstream and performance machines take on the Pentium 4 and Atholon at higher speeds, and higher prices. The Zeon and Opteron are server based CPU's, and come at a hefty price tag.

Motherboards: Motherboards are made for the above CPU's. The Chipset on the motherboard determines what kind of CPU, and the speed and reliablity of the motherboard/ Computer. Good Chipsets come from Intel, for the Pentium/ Celeron/ Zeon systems, while InVidia makes the good Chipsets for the AMD platform. In adition, Via, and SIS both make chipsets for both brands, however, they are not as fast or stable, and tend to be picky if you want high performance, mainly because of the drivers.