8KNXP problems (i think...)

mayday

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2003
Hi there.

First of all, i want to say that Intel platform is new for me ( i was an old AMD user), so i have little knowledge on this field.

Here it goes....

Hardware:
=======
-8KNXP
-P4 3.0 Ghz 800 FSB
-Gigabyte ATI Radeon 9700 PRO Maya II
-2x 512 DDR Kingston 400 Mhz CL2 HyperZ installed in DIMM 1 and 4 (orange ones) for dual channel
-WD Raptor 36 GB installed on SATA Sil (not ICHR5)
-MAXTOR 250 GB installed on IDE1
-Audigy2
-Antec True Power 550W power supply
-Pioneer DVD / Asus 52x CDROM / ASUS 48x CDWRITER

... i think that's about all that matters to mention for hardware....

Software:
========
-Windows XP Profesionall with Service Pack 1
-Latest Catalyst drivers
-Latest Intel Chipset Drivers (i am a little confused when it comes installing those drivers, on my old ABIT AT7MAX2 board for AMD i was used with 4in1's, but now i don't even know what does this "Intel Chipset Drivers" really install)
-Latest drivers for SATA & RAID

Problems:
=======

- the ussual 21's century PC problems, blue screens, sudden restarts of the system, other games don't launch at all, 3DMarks sometimes work for 1 hour, sometimes for 15 seconds....some softwares get errors when installing for the first time, for example, when trying to install Gothic 2, i had to do it for like 4-5 times before i could install it 100%....and after that didn't even want to launch (i get some errors, also it creates some error files on Windows>Minidump directory....)
- IL2 Sturmovik works sometimes for 30 minutes, sometimes for 2 minutes...same goes with 3DMark 2003.....Gun Metal Benchmark....