Antec power supplies and service are deplorable!

Fa1c0n

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I just have to write a huge warning to anyone who is considering buying an Antec power supply. Yes they have been given rave reviews right here on Tom's, but don't fall for it.

Just so no one wonders, I have been installing and building systems for over 15 years, and have built and set up hundreds of systems.

I bought an Antec power supply along with one of their high-end server cases, and proceeded to install a $3,500 system into it. Upon powering up the system for the first time, the power supply made a loud grinding noise and started to shoot flame and produced electrical arcing and smoke. I immediately flipped the switch off, removed the faulty power supply, and installed one from a working system, but it was too late, the system was fried. I looked into the casing of the Antec supply and saw that the capacitors had exploded. The entire system that I had installed only draws 250 WATT max, but the supply was rated for 450 WATT!

I called Antec and got an RMA and explained what happened, and they told me to send the entire system to them to be tested and they would replace the damaged parts...