[SOLVED] Lion slow boot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

circumventor

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2011
My macbook pro 13" takes FOREVER to boot! The most recent time I have for it was 1min 32secs.

My specs:
Macbook Pro 13" (Newest Version)
Core i5 Processor @ 2.3GHz
5400rpm 320GB HDD
4GB RAM
Pretty much everything stock

I do have to apple care protection plan that I got cheaper because im a student. Should I take it in and have the apple people take a look at it or is this a common issue with an easy fix. My Mac didn't come with a restore disc so I don't have one on hand but I could always burn one :)

Solution
The fact is - Mac OS X Lion does a good job of taking care of itself. For performance issues, there are a few things you can check:

* Check your Login Items under System Preferences > Accounts to see what you have automatically launching.
* Also check /Library/LaunchAgents/ and /Users/yourusername/Library/LaunchAgents/ for items launching at startup
* Look at what widgets you may have running.
* Launch Activity Monitor and change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes". Then look to see what may be consuming system resources.
* Take a look at the System Memory tab at the bottom of Activity Monitor to see if you have excessive "page outs", a sign that you may benefit from more RAM.
* Make sure you're not...

halcyon

Splendid

That is extremely slow. When did it start taking so long to boot?

HugoStiglitz

Distinguished
every new mac should have come with a restore CD.

but being under apple care i would first Ring the support number and they can guide you through the first stage of troubleshooting.

if they cant solve it they will issue you with a case id and instruct you to take it to your local MAC repair agent.

circumventor

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2011