ElchTzeasar

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2003
My computer quit working the other day, so I took it as a sign to finally upgrade it. Im a european student, so the cash-flow isn't what I would like it to be... It seems to me that an Athlon is the way to go when hoping to save money (correct med if Im wrong), but what motherboard should I get? I was thinking something in the line of 200-300 dollars for the works...

Scout

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
You're really going to have to be frugal to keep the price that low! If that's all you really can afford, I'd go with the Asus A7N266-VM with integrated video for $60 at Newegg. Buy an Athlon XP1800+ for $52, 256 meg of Kingston PC2100 DDR for $41, and a 40 Gig Western Digital 7200 RPM Hard drive for $57 bucks and the rest generic parts (Floppy, CDROM, Case... although make sure you get a good Power Supply) and you'd have a reasonable system under your $300 mark.

Keep in mind though, these components are a bit behind the times and you couldn't do much with them next time you upgrade... like the PC2100 memory works fine for this rig, but not really what you want in most of today's motherboards.

Scout
700 Mflops in SETI!

ElchTzeasar

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2003
Oops. I wasn't clear enough, my bad... I first thought that it was the power supply, so I bought a new one. I tryd taking everything except the mobo, cpu and memory out, but it still doesn't work, so Im going to use it as a reason to upgrade those parts, but the rest I have. The 200-300 dollar margin was for those parts.