new motherboard

chr158

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2004
Sorry this isn't the most exciting post ever, but i need some advice from anyone willing to give it. My aged 1G pIII (don't laugh) setup is slowly dying and i'm looking to upgrade most parts within a week or so. I'm still studying, so am on a bit of a budget and am almost certainly going to go for an amdXP - around the 3G mark. My real concern is the choice of main board to use; i want to spend roughly £80 (about $145 i think) and have a few in mind:

1. Abit Motherboard NF7-S nForce2 Socket A
2. ASUS MOTHERBOARD A7N8X Deluxe nForce2 chipset S
3. Gigabyte Motherboard GA-7N400 Pro nForce2 Ultra

Are any of these markedly better than the others, just slightly better, or are they all rubbish and should i go for something else? I don't know whether it'll make any difference, but i use my pc mainly for audio editing and 2/3d animation - just incase that sways it at all.

Any comments will be gratefully recieved.

chr158

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2004
Oh, and one more thing. I've got 640MB pc133 right now - with any of the new boards, what would be the best ram to get? I'm not into overclocking, now or in the future, i want speed and reliability (i know, who doesn't) but i've got a budget of about $150 +/-.

Thanx in advance

rox

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2004