HELP!! Installing Win 7 64 bit on a Dell 8400 Running out of time!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

metawin

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2010
Hello everyone,

I have a Dell 8400 and a few questions about upgrading to Win 7 64 bit.
(I am a complete NoOb when it comes to installing an OS).

First my specs are...

CPU Type
Intel Pentium 4 HT 630, 3000 MHz (15 x 200)
Instruction Set x86, x86-64, MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
L1 Trace Cache 12K Instructions
L2 Cache 2 MB (On-Die, ECC, ATC, Full-Speed)
Package Type 775 Contact LGA
Process Technology 7M, 90 nm, CMOS, Cu, Low-K Inter-Layer, High-K Gate, Strained Si
Core Voltage 1.3 V
Maximum Power 101 W @ 3.00 GHz
CPUID Revision 00000F43h
Platform ID 2Bh / MC 10h (LGA775)
64-bit x86 Extension (AMD64, Intel64) Supported

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard Name Dell Dimension 8400
Bus Type Intel GTL+
Bus Width 64-bit
Bandwidth 6400 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties
Bus Type Dual DDR2 SDRAM
Bus Width 128-bit
DRAM:FSB Ratio 1:1
Real Clock 200 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 400 MHz

North Bridge: Intel Alderwood i925XE
Supported FSB Speeds FSB800, FSB1066
Maximum Memory Amount 4 GB

BIOS A09

PCI Express Controller
PCI-E 1.0 x16 port #2 In Use @ x16 (ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 (RV370) Video Adapter (POS!!!!)

I will have 2GB of this RAM Thursday with another 2GB of the same RAM the following week or the week after that.

Corsair Dominator DDR2 Ram Memory PC-6400 800 MHZ

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180548686764

After the RAM I will be getting a new Graphics Card.

Also I have a spare 650 watt PSU if needed.

I ran the Window upgrade advisor and the only things it flagged was (of course) that I only had 512MB of RAM and outlook express.
It did say custom installation required, whatever that means.

1. My first question to everyone is, can my Dell even run Windows 7 64-bit?
I googled around and it seems possible.

2. My second question is can I install it with the 512MB of RAM I have now?