Sign in with
Your question

SIMULATING SURROUND SOUND FOR GAMES IN 2 SPEAKERS?

Tags:
  • PC gaming
  • Headphones
  • Video Games
Last response: in Video Games
March 3, 2010 9:29:01 PM

hi all!! :) 

my first post here. :sol: 

i have never used surround sound stuff before. right now i am looking for a new set of headphones for gaming. i play mostly first person shooters like counter strike, call of duty, etc. as a gamer the thought of accessing the surround sound features of these titles seems very advantageous. ;) 

i see a lot of headphones come with simulated 5.1/7.1 surround sound these days. to do this they use add on usb sound cards.

here is an example: http://www.plantronics.com/north_america/en_US/products/computer/pc-gaming-headsets/gamecom-777

i was wondering, instead of paying extra for headphones with a sound card, is there a good piece of software that will do the same job?

i have been searching, but can't find much about this subject? maybe i am looking in the wrong places?

thank you!

More about : simulating surround sound games speakers

March 4, 2010 4:07:40 AM

Trust me, you'll still be able to tell where your enemy is in games like counterstrike, based on their sounds, on even a 2.1 system. Don't bother with USB sound cards, since they add load to your CPU.
March 4, 2010 7:32:56 AM