TomClymer

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2004
I am a Computer Technician / Network Administrator (11 years experience). I recently purchased some new upgrades for my home computer system. Among my new purchases was a Soyo KT400 Dragon Ultra (Platinum Edition) motherboard. I also purchased some Ultra(brand) memory (512MB DDR 400MHz Module (2-Pack)) and a new AMD XP 2800+ cpu. I bought 2 of each piece of hardware (building 2 systems..one for me - one for a friend).

We set up the first system and it runs beautifully, save for some problems with RAM speed (see below).

When I set things so the system sees the CPU as a 2800+, the memory only shows up as 333mhz. When I set the BIOS so the system see the memory as 400mhz, the CPU only gets recognized as a 1.7gig chip. I emailed Ultra and got some good info on that. Apparently because of some limitations with the KT400 chipset coupled with the Barton-core cpu I bought, the system will only run the ram as 333mhz when the cpu is set to run as a 2800...OK.

The first system was set up about a month ago (late Jan 04). I started setting up the second system in late Feb 04. Here is where the real problems started.

I am loading Win XP Pro. After jumpering the harddrive correctly, I booted from the XP cd - or attempted too. I kept getting a TRAP ERROR. Ok, so I go to the Microsoft site and check out the error....nothing there was applicable to what I was doing. I figured, maybe I got some bad ram. So I took the stick of ram from the first (fully operational system) and tried again...same error. I even tried a different XP CD..no dice.

Ok, so I think "It's not a RAM issue". So I changed out the CPU and tried again...no luck same problem. I changed out the video...same problem....changed out the CD drive..again, same problem....

At this point I have pulled out all my hair.