Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Set-up problem with Dlink 514 router

Last response: in Wireless Networking
Share
October 2, 2004 9:41:09 AM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...

The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.

Any ideas - she is really furstrated. And all this is before she tries
ANY wireless connections.

TIA

Dave
Anonymous
a b F Wireless
October 2, 2004 9:41:10 AM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

On Sat, 02 Oct 2004 05:41:09 GMT, Ambrose <ambrosia@freeuk.com> wrote:

>My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
>using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...
>
>The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
>to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
>connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.

Ummm.... You have it backwards. The correct/normal arrangement is:

[cable modem]=====[WAN LAN]
[ LAN]====== Computah
[ LAN]
[ LAN]
DI-514

WAN means "wide area network" which basically points to the internet.
LAN means "local area network" which are your daughters computahs.


--
Jeff Liebermann jeffl@comix.santa-cruz.ca.us
150 Felker St #D http://www.LearnByDestroying.com
Santa Cruz CA 95060 AE6KS 831-336-2558
October 2, 2004 12:25:52 PM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

On Fri, 01 Oct 2004 23:13:40 -0700, Jeff Liebermann
<jeffl@comix.santa-cruz.ca.us> wrote:

>On Sat, 02 Oct 2004 05:41:09 GMT, Ambrose <ambrosia@freeuk.com> wrote:
>
>>My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
>>using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...
>>
>>The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
>>to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
>>connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.
>
>Ummm.... You have it backwards. The correct/normal arrangement is:
>
>[cable modem]=====[WAN LAN]
> [ LAN]====== Computah
> [ LAN]
> [ LAN]
> DI-514
>
>WAN means "wide area network" which basically points to the internet.
>LAN means "local area network" which are your daughters computahs.

Really? The purpose is to share internet connection, therefore the
Cable Modem is the 'input' and input is labelled WAN on the DI-514.
Then as you say pc's are on the LAN connectors (1 to 4).

That's the set-up that I have been using for a year here at home but
she can't get it to work on her Blueyonder broadband at all.

I actually think we are saying the same thing but it's simply not
working - any other ideas, please?

Dave
Related resources
October 2, 2004 12:28:27 PM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

On Fri, 01 Oct 2004 23:13:40 -0700, Jeff Liebermann
<jeffl@comix.santa-cruz.ca.us> wrote:

>On Sat, 02 Oct 2004 05:41:09 GMT, Ambrose <ambrosia@freeuk.com> wrote:
>
>>My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
>>using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...
>>
>>The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
>>to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
>>connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.
>
>Ummm.... You have it backwards. The correct/normal arrangement is:
>
>[cable modem]=====[WAN LAN]
> [ LAN]====== Computah
> [ LAN]
> [ LAN]
> DI-514
>
>WAN means "wide area network" which basically points to the internet.
>LAN means "local area network" which are your daughters computahs.

On re-reading, yes, you are right! I used the wrong acronyms.

Cable Modem to WAN and then Computers to LAN (and wireless on WLAN) is
the way I use it at home.

She is connecting Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WAN in order to
get a connection - anything else is just dead!

Thanks,

Dave
Anonymous
a b F Wireless
October 2, 2004 12:28:28 PM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

"Ambrose" <ambrosia@freeuk.com> wrote in message
news:7ipsl0pk12of4jkboc9iuu85n62frmfkhu@4ax.com...
> >>My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
> >>using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...
> >>
> >>The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
> >>to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
> >>connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.
> >
> >Ummm.... You have it backwards. The correct/normal arrangement is:
> >
> >[cable modem]=====[WAN LAN]
> > [ LAN]====== Computah
> > [ LAN]
> > [ LAN]
> > DI-514
> >
> >WAN means "wide area network" which basically points to the internet.
> >LAN means "local area network" which are your daughters computahs.
>
> On re-reading, yes, you are right! I used the wrong acronyms.
>
> Cable Modem to WAN and then Computers to LAN (and wireless on WLAN) is
> the way I use it at home.
>
> She is connecting Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WAN in order to
> get a connection - anything else is just dead!
>
> Thanks,
>
> Dave


If the ISP requires the NIC ID to be registered, she needs to "clone" the
registered ID to the router to show the proper ID to the WAN to get service.
Read the manual, hook it up right, clone if necessary and reboot everything.

Pepperoni
(manual should be available online)
October 2, 2004 4:39:22 PM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

On Sat, 2 Oct 2004 06:56:27 -0400, "Pepperoni" <trashbot@hotmail.com>
wrote:

>
>"Ambrose" <ambrosia@freeuk.com> wrote in message
>news:7ipsl0pk12of4jkboc9iuu85n62frmfkhu@4ax.com...
>> >>My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
>> >>using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...
>> >>
>> >>The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
>> >>to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
>> >>connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.
>> >
>> >Ummm.... You have it backwards. The correct/normal arrangement is:
>> >
>> >[cable modem]=====[WAN LAN]
>> > [ LAN]====== Computah
>> > [ LAN]
>> > [ LAN]
>> > DI-514
>> >
>> >WAN means "wide area network" which basically points to the internet.
>> >LAN means "local area network" which are your daughters computahs.
>>
>> On re-reading, yes, you are right! I used the wrong acronyms.
>>
>> Cable Modem to WAN and then Computers to LAN (and wireless on WLAN) is
>> the way I use it at home.
>>
>> She is connecting Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WAN in order to
>> get a connection - anything else is just dead!
>>
>> Thanks,
>>
>> Dave
>
>
>If the ISP requires the NIC ID to be registered, she needs to "clone" the
>registered ID to the router to show the proper ID to the WAN to get service.
>Read the manual, hook it up right, clone if necessary and reboot everything.
>
>Pepperoni
>(manual should be available online)
>
>
Many thanks - I'll make sure that she tries that.

Dave
Anonymous
a b F Wireless
October 2, 2004 4:39:23 PM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

Ambrose wrote:

> On Sat, 2 Oct 2004 06:56:27 -0400, "Pepperoni" <trashbot@hotmail.com>
> wrote:
>
>
>>"Ambrose" <ambrosia@freeuk.com> wrote in message
>>news:7ipsl0pk12of4jkboc9iuu85n62frmfkhu@4ax.com...
>>
>>>>>My daughter, at university, is trying to set-up a new wireless lan
>>>>>using a Dlink 514. Very strange results...
>>>>>
>>>>>The only way that she can get an connection is to attach Cable Modem
>>>>>to a WLAN socket and the computer to the LAN socket. The 'normal'
>>>>>connection (Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WLAN) fails to work.
>>>>
>>>>Ummm.... You have it backwards. The correct/normal arrangement is:
>>>>
>>>>[cable modem]=====[WAN LAN]
>>>> [ LAN]====== Computah
>>>> [ LAN]
>>>> [ LAN]
>>>> DI-514
>>>>
>>>>WAN means "wide area network" which basically points to the internet.
>>>>LAN means "local area network" which are your daughters computahs.
>>>
>>>On re-reading, yes, you are right! I used the wrong acronyms.
>>>
>>>Cable Modem to WAN and then Computers to LAN (and wireless on WLAN) is
>>>the way I use it at home.
>>>
>>>She is connecting Cable Modem to LAN and Computer to WAN in order to
>>>get a connection - anything else is just dead!
>>>
>>>Thanks,
>>>
>>>Dave
>>
>>
>>If the ISP requires the NIC ID to be registered, she needs to "clone" the
>>registered ID to the router to show the proper ID to the WAN to get service.
>>Read the manual, hook it up right, clone if necessary and reboot everything.
>>
>>Pepperoni
>>(manual should be available online)
>>
>>
>
> Many thanks - I'll make sure that she tries that.
>
> Dave


Did she power-down the cable modem to reset it so it will forget the MAC
address of the computer? The ISP may have it set to only allow one MAC
address, and it already knows the MAC of the computer so it rejects the
MAC of the router.

Bob
Anonymous
a b F Wireless
October 2, 2004 4:39:24 PM

Archived from groups: alt.internet.wireless (More info?)

On Sat, 02 Oct 2004 10:16:31 -0500, zxcvbob <zxcvbob@charter.net>
wrote:

>Did she power-down the cable modem to reset it so it will forget the MAC
>address of the computer? The ISP may have it set to only allow one MAC
>address, and it already knows the MAC of the computer so it rejects the
>MAC of the router.

Other's have made good suggestions (clone MAC address and power
cycle). Both are necessary.

Here's a checklist:

1. Check the lights. Most cable modems and routers have lights on
the ethernet ports that indicate when the cable connection is complete
(as well as flash when there's traffic). In this case, all your
cables should be conventional ethernet cables. No cross over cables
required. On the front panel of the DI-514, you should have a light
on for WAN, and another on in whichever port (1-4) the computah is
plugged into.

2. If you are unable to connect to the web server inside the router,
then the DI-514 probably has some settings left over from a previous
installation. Push the reset button on the back and hold it for about
15 seconds. Release. Wait for it to stabilize. Try again. If
nothing, power cycle the router and try again. The default IP is:
http://192.168.0.1/
Note the slash at the end. Sometimes, that's necessary.

3. There is a chance that someone has pre-set the skool's IP
addresses in the computah used for the setup. That will work with the
cable modem directly, but not with the router. The router *MAY*
(probably not) need to have those addresses inserted in the
configuration. If the unspecified skools network help page has such
values, they go in the router. The computah should be set to have its
IP address, DNS servers, and gateway "assigned by the ISP" also known
as DHCP assigned.

4. Make sure the settings are correct for your cable ISP. See:
http://support.dlink.com/techtool/di514/emulator/h_wan_...
It should probably be set to "Dynamic IP address". If you had
specified the skool, I would have pointed to their online instructions
and verified the settings.

5. This is also the page where you clone the MAC address. Do it.
Save the settings (Apply). Then turn everying off. Turn on the
unspecified cable modem first. Wait a minute or so until the
carrier/sync lite stabilizes. Then turn on the router. This isn't
ritual isn't really necessary, but it does save prevent some potential
and rare problems.

6. Go to the status page like:
http://support.dlink.com/techtool/di514/emulator/st_dev...
It should be full of IP addresses at the bottom if it's working, and
zeros, if not.

Good luck.

--
Jeff Liebermann jeffl@comix.santa-cruz.ca.us
150 Felker St #D http://www.LearnByDestroying.com
Santa Cruz CA 95060 AE6KS 831-336-2558
!