Appropriate Motherboard?

XChamp

Distinguished
May 18, 2004
Well instead of ordering another computer from Dell I've decided to build my own (sort of) at monarchcomputer.com since i can save about $1000 doing that. But, I'm relatively new to all this and I really I have no idea what motherboard I should buy. I will be using this computer for my job, which means I will have many applications running at the same time (music, email, web browsers, a messenger, a spreadsheet, and 3 or 4 business oriented apps). I also like to game (can't wait for halflife2). What's more, I really want *at least* dual monitor support for a bigger desktop. 4 screens would be nicer but at this point I cannot figure out a way to stretch my desktop across 4 screens (do I need a mobo with two AGP slots for dual cards? I really am at a loss here. I know GeForce FX cards offer dual support, so right now I plan on buying one of those.)

any recommendations here or a point in the right direction? thanks

TheRod

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2002
Do you want Intel or AMD? Do you care about AMD or Intel based system? If you do a lot of multi-tasking, a P4C might be a good choice, because they have hyper-threading.

Do you plan to keep your PC for a long time? Because, new technology is coming out within a few months. It's might worth the wait if you plan to keep your system for a long time. And for the long-time investment, AMD64 based system would be a better choice, because they are 64bit capable.

The best multi-monitor is offered by Matrox, but if you buy a Matrox card you will nver be able to play HL2 on it! They are very slow in 3D, but they have triple-head support (3 monitors).

For dual-monitor setup, many ATI cards have dual output too and they usually beat GeForce FX cards in the same range. GeForce FX cards have image quality issue. And don't forget that ATI cards 9600/9800 (PRO and XT) will run HL2 very smoothly. Valve and ATI collaborate to make sure ATI cards will run HL2 fast.