New system: Which mobo?

Allmachtige

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2003
I havn't built a new system in some time, so I'm overdue...plus I'm behind the times when it comes to what's what. For instance, would it hurt performance to use an ATI graphics card with a nvidia chipset on a mobo?

My budget isn't insane this time around, but I do know of a few things I must have:
1.) 2 x Raptor 36.7GB SATA drives on a RAID 0
2.) Athlon XP Barton 400fsb
3.) Dual Channel DDR400

Well I checked out the SOYO SY-KT600 and it looks promising, but nothing in the specs says anything about dual channel DDR. Is there a similar mobo that includes this feature? I'm sticking with an ATI graphics card, but the mobo chipset is not too important to me. Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

Zeekfu

Distinguished
May 30, 2004
newbie here but..
Most everything I have looked at I believe that 1 74gb raptor is better all around and perhaps even a little cheaper than two 36gb in raid 0-certainly not enough to switch but if buying new...

I am sure somone will correct me if I am wrong (or probabably have a different opinion at least based on other info) but I think this is correct.
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by zeekfu on 06/08/04 05:08 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Start out with a top quality board and go from there. I'd suggest the Abit NF7-S version 2.0. Since previous versions have been off the market for some time, nearly all retailers are carrying the 2.0, which supports 400 bus.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Zeekfu

Distinguished
May 30, 2004
re: cpu