Sign in with
Your question

Gigabyte 8KNXP Severe Problems!!!

Last response: in Motherboards
June 12, 2004 2:34:08 PM

I have a Gigabyte 8knxp rev 2.0. I have been using it for a couple of months now without any problems. Reason being as i only had my AGP video card installed and no PCI devices. Well yesterday i got an Audigy 2 ZS Gamer along with a 56k inteneral modem and its been hell ever since. I couldn't get the Audigy 2 to be recognized by windows at all. I disabled the AC97 detect in BIOS and even did a fresh install of Windows XP Pro and yet i still can't get things working right. I've tried it in several of the PCI slots. I finally got it to recognize earlier in PCI slot #1 which was the first time i tried that slot because i didn't want the sound card up against my video card.

I thought maybe there was something wrong with my PCI slots as i've seen other people have this same problem on this board with getting PCI devices to work so i installed a 56k inteneral modem in PCI slot #5. Well that must of been a real mistake because it installed just peachy and yet it didn't work and now when i try to remove it it reboots my system every single time. I can't even uninstall the software for it because it reboots it then too.

My system also takes forever to completely boot up because once it gets into windows its searching for hardware or whatever i guess and its getting conflicts.

I have disabled quite a bit of on-board stuff in my BIOS. I disabled the 1394 hardware device, midi device, game port device, AC97 detect, my Silicon Image chip, ITT GigaRAID chip, my parallel ports, and my serial ports, and maybe something else i forgot.

I have two raptors set up on RAID0 using the Intel ICH5R instead of the Sil chip because the Sil goes through the PCI bus and i figured that might be conflicting with something or zapping all my PCI bus bandwidth.