Sign in with
Your question

YIKES! Information Overload...Please Help

Last response: in Motherboards
June 13, 2004 5:05:43 AM

Hello all. I am planning to build a new PC to replace my old Dell Dimension XPS-R400 w/ 256MB RAM. I am still running Windows 98 1st Edition, so I am definitely behind the times. I have decided that it would be in my best interests to start from scratch instead of upgrading my old PC. I am a first timer at DIY PC building, and after spending a great amount of time reading all sorts of information both in print and online, I am just about as confused as I possibly can be about what components I should go with. Any of your opinions would be valued.

I intend to load Windows XP, but I have not yet decided on Home or Pro. Stability is most important. I will be using my PC mainly to manage a vast collection of digital photos using PS 5.5. I am a photographer, and I will be scanning numerous old photos. I also spend a great deal of time on the internet. I also will be managing a digital music collection, burning music CD's etc. I will be doing light gaming only, but I would like to have at least acceptable performance with mainly sports and auto racing games. Here are the system components I have chosen to start with:

CASE: Antec SX1000II VAR Series ATX Tower
PSU: Antec True 430
MOBO: Intel "D865GBFLK" i865G Chipset Motherboard for Intel Socket 478 CPU -RETAIL
PROCESSOR: Intel Pentium 4/ 2.8C GHz 800MHz FSB, 512K Cache, Hyper Threading Technology
CPU COOLING: Cooler Master Aero 4 Lite Model DI4-7J74F
VIDEO: Intel Extreme Graphics 2 on board
HDD: SAMSUNG 120GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model SP1213C, OEM
MEMORY: Kingston ValueRAM Dual Kits 184 Pin 512MB(256MBx2) DDR PC-3200
CD WRITER: Plextor 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive, Model PX-PREMIUM/SW