Problems with Abit BX 133 Raid

icEDragon

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2001
Hello,
I’ve recently decided to build a second ,cheaper PC for internet use only and I’ve bought a Abit BX 133 RAID motherboard.The problem is that I have a Western Digital HDD (WD 300BB 30GB) wich I think it’s ATA 100,and when I connect him at the ATA 100 controler (with an ATA 100 cable of course) WIN XP refuses to start.In BIOS Manager the IDE 1 and IDE 2 are disabled and the ATA 100 is enabled(so at there are “none” devices specified at the start of the system but they are recognized after the start of the raid controller).I have also a CD-RW Teac connected at the IDE 4 .So after the start of the RAID ATA 100 controler I have a HDD master on IDE 3(primary master) and a CDW on IDE 4 (secondary master),after that….nothing….the Windows asks me if I want to boot in safe mode,normaly,etc and then the system restarts.I,ve also tried to put CDRW as a secondary master or a secondary slave.to enable the IDE1 and IDE2 controlers or to reinstall windows (after the initial setup he tells me that I have a problem with the HDD,a virus etc…witch is out of the question because I have installed it using a ATA 33 IDE cable with the HDD connected at IDE 1 as primary master and CDRW at IDE 1 also,as a primary slave) but the result was the same.What can I do to use the ATA 100 feature?Do I have to use only IDE 1 and IDE 2 controlers wich I repeat they work just fine?
Thank you.
Alex
P.S. I know this doesn’t count but the rest of the system is made around a Celeron 866,256 MB RAM SDRAM,and a Matrox G450 vga.Again I’m bagging you to help me!

Cybercraig

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I assume you've loaded the Promise drivers for that chip and the drive is set to cable select?

"I am become death, the destroyer of worlds. Now, let's eat!

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff