Newbie creating a new budget system

Hello, all.

I am a newbie here and this is my first post. Please let me know if there's a better sub-board here I need to post this request to?

I have grown tired of my old Athlon 1 GHz machine and am thinking about putting together a new system using a few parts from my current machine -- probably just the two 160Mb hard drives, my cable modem, mouse, keyboard, monitor, SCSI scanner, and my two new optical drives (one a CDR, one a DVD-R). My current mobo, RAM, video card, and case all need to be switched out. There over 3 years old now and XP is sluggish despite a new install. In my next machine, I'd like to play with Linux some with a third drive.

Most of the work I do is mainly web surfing/email stuff with some Office and light graphics work. I do a lot of CD burning and lossless music gathering but that's about it other than some database work.

I would like to keep my system under $1,000 and build it all myself, which I am sure I can do.

I was looking at getting an Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo; an AMD Duron Athlon XP 3000+ (400MHz); and an Abit Radeon 9600XT-VIO 256MB DDR 8XAGP graphics card. I was going to place all this with some new Corsair CL2 DDR DIMMs in a new Antec P160 aluminum case. With a new 480W power supply and a Coolermaster Jet 7, this new system was going to cost me about $701 (doesn't include shipping).

Based on what I've decribed above, is there a better configuration you might suggest? I'm sure the system above would be tons faster than the one I have now, but I want to make sure there is some room to grow. I'll keep the new machine at least 2 years (probably 3), and I don't want to be left out when Longhorn, etc. come out and I haven't properly prepared now.

Thanks for any help.

-- Shampoo
17 answers Last reply
More about newbie creating budget system