Sign in with
Your question

Please help me pick new DIY system for fast DV

Last response: in Motherboards
July 7, 2004 11:32:31 AM

Please help me pick new DIY system for fast DV, no gaming

Hi, everyone!

<b>Intro:</b> I don't think I've ever been so confused in my life! I'm looking for recommendations and advice on what components to pick for my new DIY system, but I'm only a moderately knowledgeable builder who feels way out of his depth. I've built a few DIY systems before, but I want to get this one <b>right</b>. I'll be using Windows XP.

<b>System Purpose:</b> General desktop stuff, but most of all I want to be able to input, output, convert & process digital video (DV) at the <b><i>highest speed I can afford</i></b> (but this isn't a dedicated DV system; it's for general use). I don't play any games, so I don't care about graphics speed.

<b>Budget:</b> ~ $1000. (max: $1250-$1500)

<b>CPU preference:</b> Pentium 4 in the ~3+ GHz range, but only because I read the P4 is much faster at DV than anything else on the market at a reasonable price. If you know different, please let me know.

<font color=blue><b>Question 1a:</b></font color=blue> Assuming I go with a P4, which should I go with?
Quote:
<font color=green>(A):</font color=green> = P4 3.2GHz Prescott w/HT 800MHz 1MB S-478 - OEM - 1 year - $279

<font color=green>(B):</font color=green> = P4 3.2GHz 800FSB (HT?) w/512K Socket 478 .13 micron S-478 3200MHz - OEM - 30 days - $266

<font color=green>(C):</font color=green> = P4 530 Prescott 3.0GHz 800MHz 1MB Socket-775 - OEM - $224

<font color=blue><b>Question 1b:</b></font color=blue> Will hyper-threading (HT) help speed up DV apps like video conversion, or will it slow it down?

<font color=blue><b>Question 1c:</b></font color=blue> What about Prescott? I <i>think</i> I may have read the Prescott/HT is slower than the "older" P4 core (Northwood?) for DV, but can't remember for sure. Anyone know?

----