ppnl

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2001
I have a 3.2 ghz pentium on a ga-8knxp board running winxp-pro that I built some time ago. It has been a stable system that I leave on for weeks at a time sometimes. But recently it started making a strange sound kinda between a beep and a click. (It mostly only does it when I run a python program that uses pygame). I thought it was the hardrive but it turns out it was comming from the system speaker.

Ok I think heat problem even if the beeping does not really sound like an alarm. Maybe a bad speaker I dunno. So I check the input filter and sure enough it is stuffed full of dust bunnies. I clean that up no problem. It would seem the problem is solved.

But I downloaded mbm5 and toast to check things out and I get some results that I don't understand. I have never used these before and I'm not sure what I'm looking at.

Idleing in winxp the cpu temp is 40C. But in bios the temp drifts up to 50C. Is that reasonable?

I start toast on priority and the temp goes up to 52C.

But I close toast and start the python program and the temp hits 73C!

But it is the voltages that I really don't understand.

The +3.3v line is at 3.28v-3.30v
The +5v line is rock steady at 4.08v!
The +12v line is +11.31 - +11.43. Seems kinda low but what do I know.
The -12v line jumps around randomly between -10.96 - +1.96!
The -5v is peged to zero.

The system is still rock steady with no crashes or reboots. I use it for lite gameing, internet and learning game programming with python. So what gives with these voltages?