newbie newbie! need some help

panzhuli

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2004
hey all. i've never built a system before and i want to build a system for checking web development projects as well as gaming. perhaps some graphix work as well, but unlikely dv. i have VERY limited space and budget... here's what im thinking:

CHAINTECH "7NIF2" nForce2 IGP Motherboard for AMD Socket A
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton", 333 FSB, 512K Cache
Kingston ValueRAM 184 Pin 256MB DDR PC-3200 (x2)
Western Digital Special Edition 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive
SuperFlower mATX cases (101 i think is the model)
and some cd drive

suggestions? i want a very small footprint, but with some power.

here are my main concerns:

1. power supply. the case comes with a 230Watt power supply - do i actually need more? i'm not a superstar that is going to be doing clocking or whatever it is called. i will just run the computer.

2. cooling. how many fans should i get? three are supported... and do i need to worry about compatibility with a chipset? or is a fan a fan?

3. dvd or not dvd. i already have a dvd burner (on a mac), so i will not need to write to dvds with the pc, although does anyone think that software will be c oming out in the next 2 years only on dvd?

thanks