A few questions, if you don't mind

Gustom

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2004
Building my first system here, and I have some mobo questions. Thanks in advance!

First, this system is going to be strictly a gaming pc. My current pc is still pretty new, and handles all of my other needs just fine. Much of the reason of building this system is for the experience. I plan to overclock, I guess, if that matters. So, with that in mind:

I have no real preference between AMD and Intel, and I have no knowledge of the pros and cons of each. So...what are the pros and cons of each, and which do you prefer? I've only used intel in the past, but only because that's what came with my retail pc's.

What sort of things should I be looking for in a motherboard? Like I said, I plan to overclock the cpu, and I'm a complete noob in all facets of motherboards/overclocking. Before I decided to build this system, I hadn't really ever considered what make a motherboard good. So how about it?

Specifically, which motherboards for each cpu do you reccommend? I guess that's the big question really, and the one that matters. The other are just for my general knowledge.

Again, thanks in advance for taking the time to read this crap, and I'm sorry if this is all boring old crap.

G

Nights_L

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2003
You can't go wrong with AMD Athlon64 if you are gaming, because it's integrated memory controller really help in games.
Motherboard however, find a branded motherboard such as Asus, Abit, MSI, Gigabyte etc, based on nForce3 250 chipset, or VIA K8T800Pro, both are good for overclocking, they both have PCI/AGP bus speed locked, however, nForce3 250 is recommended here :smile:

Cybercraig

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
How much do you want to spend?

Abit IS7 - 2.8C @ 3.4 - Mushkin PC4000 (2 X 512) - Sapphire 9800Pro - TT 420 watt Pure Power
Samsung 120gb ATA-100 - Maxtor 40gb ATA - 100
Sony DRU-510A - THAT'S MORE LIKE IT!

shaido7

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2003