Need help picking Mobo for given CPU/Mem/HDD

kevinshi

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2005
I’m a newbie trying to buy a new motherboard to reuse a bunch of components I have from a few other systems I’ve torn down. My end goal is to build a XP Media Center (not that its particularly relevant).

I’ve done a bit of browsing and have found one mobo that seems like it is a good fit. Questions:

1) From what I detail below do you agree this is a good selection? What problems do you foresee I should be aware of (remember I am a total newbie)?

2) Is there another mobo you would recommend more (and if so why)?

The board I am looking at: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe - http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=P4P800 Deluxe&langs=09#

_Components I want to Reuse:_
Case: ATX
CPU: Intel P4 3.06
GPU: ASUS V9950TD/128 AGP
Memory:
- 1GB PC2700 DDR SDRAM (2 SIMMs)
- 512MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2 SIMMs)
HDD:
- 2 Maxtor MaxLine Plus II 250GB HDDs (Supports ultra ATA/133 or SATA)
- 1 Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 40GB Ultra ATA 66 (Supports Ultra Mode 4 for up to 66MB/sec data transfers)
Drives:
- 1 Hitachi GSA-4040B DVD-RAM Drive (Internal E-IDE / ATAPI)
- 1 Standard 3.5” internal floppy drive

_No compromise additional specs:_
- Onboard Gigabit Ethernet
- USB 2.0 – 4 connectors
- 1394 – 1 connector

_Like to have additional specs:_
- Prefer ASUS (purely emotional…)
- Ideally 8 channel audio output
- SPDIF Out
- USB 2.0 – 8 connectors
- 4th IDE drive (without having to use an add in PCI card or RAID [because I don’t know what RAID even is and prefer not to have to learn... ;-)])
- Ability to drive front panel accessories (like play/pause, left/right/up/down/OK, volume)
- Ability to hook up front panel inputs (like S-Video, Composite Video, RCA Audio, 1394, USB2.0).

Thanks,
kevin

kevinshi

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2005
How's their support and documentation? I have never before put together my own system…