Remeber When That Was State Of the Art?

Computerrock1

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2009
I just started playing FFVII on my computer yesterday and I checked my gpu's temp. It was running as if it was on idle. Running the same program on my grandma's AMD 7000, it was really hot.
Its amazing how much technology has changed in so little time. I guess what I'm saying is, when will our current state of the art games be memorbilia?

hooray4boobies

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2010
Technology seems to be slowing down...especially in the graphical department. This can be blamed purely on consoles and piracy.

Games are designed for console, and ported to PC. They add some AA and AF to match current GPU's, and maybe if we're lucky, some higher res textures and higher artifact count. And while we get new cards every year, the leap is only in line with consoles really...we get more frames and some extra crap that supposedly changes the entire look of a game...but you really can barely notice. I expect the current generation of PC gaming hardware/software to go out when the next generation consoles come out...but thats just me :p

ulysses35

Distinguished
You cant blame console ports for the decline in technology and games.

PC's have the biggest issues themselves

1) PC games are much easier to pirate - making the potential loss of a popular game that every tom dick or harry can get from bit torrent

2 PC games have toe be coded for a wide variety of specs (CPU / GPU) where as a console will run the game the same as the next console.

3) Console users have the benefit of chucking a disc in their respective machines and it working how the coders intended it to.

How many times have you bought a game and its not played as smoothly or with as much detail as you expected ?

Im not for one minute saying that console games are better, just the whole game playing experience is much easier to get into

hooray4boobies

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2010
Private Message lol