MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum Question

tameanaka

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2005
Ok, here's the deal. On MSI's website they say this board supports DDR400, when I go through the whole searching thing on Crucial's website they say it supports DDR500. So which is right? I'd obviously like to get the faster stuff, cause the price difference is barely anything, but I don't want to buy stuff that won't work. The DDR400 has 2-2-2-6 and the DDR500 has 2.5-4-4-8, now I don't know much about those numbers but I know lower is better right. I'm kind of new at this and I normally only go with what's on the manufacturer's website, so please help me out and explain your answer please. thanks

tweebel

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2004
There is no such thing as DDR-400. DDR-500 is not an official standard, it is something the manufacturer says about the capatabilitiesof their product. No mainboard with normal DDR (not DDR2 that is) officially supports anything beyond DDR 400. Of course, with overclocking, it isn't that hard to clock the DDR at 500 (250x2). However, the manufacturer of the RAM can't guarantee that all other components will work at that speed.

EDIT:

About the timings: Ask it in the memory forum. I think the DDR 500 timings will be a little faster at 500 speeds than the 400 timings at 400 speed. But you never know.
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by tweebel on 02/16/05 01:11 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

tameanaka

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2005
Another concern that I just thought of is a PSU. The board has a 24pin connector, and all the PSUs I am seeing only have a 20pin. What PSUs are the best? lil help plz. thanks

You need to get a PSU that is ATX12V <b>v2.0</b> compatible. THG did an article recently <A HREF="http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/20041223/index.html" target="_new">ATX12V v2.0</A>. A couple of examples are:
<A HREF="http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-103-459&depa=1" target="_new">Enermax Noisetaker 420W</A>