ninpo

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2005
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi I am a noob,

I recently purchased a second hand asus a7n266_vm mobo + CPU + DDRRAM for my kids to play with & promptly inserted it into an existing case.
- Initially was getting POST error BEEP beep BEEP beep … (Continuous).
- I assumed the ram was incorrectly seated, & reseated it. Same POST error,
- tried changing banks, no difference.
- Tried removing the RAM, no difference.
- Tried reseating the CPU Fan (which was not original).
- Then got peaved, unplugged all & reconnected.

Then things got worse, MOBO LED on, no PSU fan, no boot
- So connected the Green & black pins of the PSU, fan starts no problem, so assuming PSU OK.
- Reseated the Mother board, nuthin
- Reseated the power cables, nuthin
- Shorted the ATX power switch pins on the mobo panel with a spare jumper, nuthin,nuthin, nuthin

I’m not exactly sure what I’ve done wrong, I was suspecting that the previous owner of the board may have over clocked the CPU, hence the new super dooper Titan 12 V Fan… maybe something else is configured wrong???
Maybe I shorted the board on the case when I reseated the panel connectors (No spacers on that corner of the board...though I thought I had switched it off) … who knows…?
So My question is am I wasting my time trying to recover from this? And What do I do about the shoe on the wall?

Really appreciate any assistance
Cheers

ChipDeath

Splendid
May 16, 2002
Remove the board from the case, lay it on a non-conductive surface (e.g. Wooden table), and connect just the ram, CPU (& HSF), graphics card, and power supply. See if that boots - it'll rule out anything shorting against the case.

One other thing:
Shorted the ATX power switch pins on the mobo panel with a spare jumper, nuthin,nuthin, nuthin