AMD 64 Motherboard Help me out

darkblade

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2005
Hi I am a noob when it comes to understanding stuff.

Ok I want the best Motherboard on the market that’s supports AMD 64 ATX format Socket 754 and it’s an AGP8x NOT PCI express.

I want IDE connectors coz I don’t really understand what is this Serial ATA-150, I already have 2 IDE Hard Drives.

My favourite brand is ASUS, and I would like to keep that way, but I am open for suggestions.

I have notice this board Asus K8V-X Socket-754 VIA K8T800 ATX, Any good?

On the processor I was thinking on the AMD (Newcastle) Athlon 64bit 3000+ 754pin, any good??

Thank you for your time.

<A HREF="http://www.pimpedoutcases.net/article.php?57.1" target="_new">Here</A> is an article on SATA.

Some ?'s for you:
1. Are you going to OC this computer?
2. What parts from your current rig are you going to use in the new setup?
3. What is your budget?
4. Why are you not considering s939? I know the pros/cons of each, but why are YOU going s754? There are s939 boards with AGP if that is the only reason...

Answers to your questions:
1. The best chipset for the s754 AMD is the nVidia nForce3 250GB. The Asus boards with this chipset are the <A HREF="http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=K8N&langs=09" target="_new">K8N</A> or the <A HREF="http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=K8N-E Deluxe&langs=09" target="_new">K8N-E Deluxe</A>
2. I would personally go with the <A HREF="http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_product_spec_details_r_us.jsp?PRODUCT_ID=2840&CATEGORY_TYPE=MB&SITE=NA" target="_new">DFI Lnparty nF3 UT 250GB</A>. Behind the DFI I would go with the <A HREF="http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/techspec.php?categories=1&model=235" target="_new">Abit NF8</A>.
3. If you got s754 then definitely get an A64 witht the Newcastle core.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
There are lots of boards for you out there, here are my basic recommendations: