New Mobo Purchase

wizoforb

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2005
How does a GA-K8NS ULTRA-939 (GIGABYTE GA-K8NS NFORCE 2 ULTRA, ULTRA-939) sound? Is GIGABYTE a good choice or does MSI have better boards. I'm looking for fast FSB, DUAL CHANNEL.....no OC. I have components listed below. I'm fed up with via, and I guess Nforce is a better faster chipset anyway. doesn't this specific board have 2000FSB?? It lists only 800 on some sites which I think is qa typo.

ASUS A8V DELUXE K8T800 PRO
AMD ATHLON 64 +3200 (939)
(2)1 GB CORSAIR RAM PC3200 400 MHZ
BFG 6800 GEFORCE ULTRA OC (AGP)
(2) WD 74GB RAPTORS (SATA)
(1) WD 120GB (IDE)

over_c

Distinguished
May 27, 2003
I have no personal experience with the nForce3 ultra chipset but I asked this same question a couple weeks ago and I think the Gigabyte board is the concensus winner for a non-OC nf3 ultra board.

The 2000 (1000(200x5)x2) HyperTransport Bus (HTT, I think) is not the same as FSB. But from what I have seen, changing the HTT multiplier does not seem to affect performance in any meaningful way.

Finally, I doubt that changing chipsets will result in more than a 5% performance increase, if that. Do you really feel the change is worth it?

wizoforb

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2005
Well I guess not if the increase is not significant.....I'm having so much trouble with SATA right now that I was assuming that it would be easier with a better chipset. It seems that my windows won't install on my Raptor, which I've been asking questions like a mad man in the last couple of days. Nothing seems to be working out.

(1) WD 120GB (IDE)
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by wizoforb on 04/27/05 03:08 PM.</EM></FONT></P>