Sign in with
Your question

Hard crash with sound looop

Last response: in Video Games
September 3, 2010 12:46:49 AM

This is so frustrating because my computer should be able to play games no problem, yet it always crashes during games. Theirs always kind of a warning before it crashes, the sound will get choppy and the fps will drop and then boom it locks up with the last sound played getting looped, forcing me to turn off manually. I just recently took it in to get stress tested and everything came back fine so i have no idea what is causing it to crash. The same kind of crash happens in every game i play(anywhere from 15mins-2hrs gameplay), and only in games.I'm not a pro with computers so any help would be great.

i7 920 2.67ghz 12Gb ram
Nvidia gtx 260
Asus p6t mobo
Creative SB X-fi
Vista 64

More about : hard crash sound looop

September 3, 2010 3:21:41 PM

remove the sound card physically and run your onboard sound. if that doesn't help. remove half of the RAM. if it seems better after that but still crashing, you need to check each memory stick individually, then build back up in pairs mixing and matching until you find it fails and the last stick you put in should be the faulty one, but you have to add one at a time otherwise its too confusing. also reseat the cpu and videocard while your at it and check for heat, carefully touch a bare metal part of the case and then put one finger gently on different components. if its too hot to keep your finger on something with light pressure, its hotter than it should be. if thats too overwhelming dont worry its fairly straight forward work, you'll be fine.
m
l
September 3, 2010 11:40:14 PM

Once i remove the sound card how do i run the onboard sound?
m
l
Related resources
September 4, 2010 5:19:23 AM

It may already be running, so once you remove the SB, it may switch to the onboard soundcard as default sound device, but if not, you'll need to go into the BIOS when the machine boots up and check its enabled