Sign in with
Your question

Small Office File/FTP/Email Server First build

Last response: in Business Computing
February 16, 2013 2:20:47 PM

Dear All,

I am a newbie, hope you guys can give me an opinions and advice. I am a founder of a small design house. There have 5 people working in the office (include me). My office have 3 PC, 3 Mac and 1 printer.

One of my old PC, and the hardware config in below list:

CPU : Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 2.6Ghz
Motherboard : Intel DP35DP
RAM : 4GB
Harddisk : Segate ST3250310AS 250G x 2

I don't need this PC anymore, so I decide to re-use them to rebuild a file/ftp/email server for my small office.

The purpose of the server

1. Storage - store all daily working data files. The major working files have psd, eps, tif, Indesign, Ai, and some minor files are doc,pdf.

2. FTP server - for my client to upload and download the files such as zip files. Sometimes zip files will bigger than 1G.

3. email server - since we are use gmail for company email. And gmail file size have limitation. So I want to make a mail server to make the limitation bigger.

I will use Ubuntu for os. And want to run RAID 10. I understand the minimal hd for RAID10 is 4. And it is difficult to find 2 more ST3250310AS hd. So I decide to buy Western Digital WD3202ABYS x 4.

Well, I want to know according to my old PC hardware config is it enough for my server setup ? I want the server is stable and fast for transfer data.

And I also want to setup a backup system for the server. So the 2 old segate hd can use for backup ?

Please give me any advice , thanks a lot.

February 16, 2013 4:06:20 PM

Maybe you get the WD drives very cheap. Otherwise i would recommend to use only two 1TB drives in raid1. 1TB drives are faster then the old 320Gb drives and don't need raid0.
February 16, 2013 7:16:37 PM