Power Problem

gwave65

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2005
I'm a newb to this forum so I'm not sure if i'm posting in the right spot, sorry if i'm not. Whenever I press the power button on my PC, nothing happens except the CPU fan jumps a little. Here's what I've done so far:

-PC is plugged in. (duh)
-Replaced with known good POWER SUPPLY.
-Replaced with known good MOTHERBOARD.
-Replaced with known good CPU.
-Unplugged all non-essential components (fans, disk drives, lights, USB, memory).
-Removed mobo from case to make sure it wasn't shorting out on the case.

The only thing I haven't replaced is the case. Any ideas? Thanks,

Chad

fate

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2004
Did you try reseating the original cpu? What do you mean by the cpu fan is jumping? Like running slow or it's hopping down your NB?

I wouldn't call memory non-essential :p

gwave65

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2005
Well, non-essential that you don't need it to get power to the mobo and have fans start turning. Yes, i've replaced and reseated the cpu. The CPU fan will twitch a little when I hit the power button then stop. I had a gigabyte mobo that was doing the same thing so I sent it back for repair and bought a MSI refurb from NewEgg which did the same thing. I sent the MSI back to NewEgg and they returned it and it's still doing the same thing. The only conclusion I can come to is REFURBS SUCK!

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by gwave65 on 07/23/05 01:24 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

alladinsane

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2005
Did you use the same psu and cpu for all the mobos you tried? Did you try another cpu or another psu to see if those were the problems? I can't imagine that you got 3 bad mobos in a row even if they were refurbished.

gwave65

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2005
The PSU was the first thing I tried. I bought a brand new one from Best Buy b/c we were in a pinch at the time, still did the same thing. That's when I knew my PSU was ok. I tried the same CPU that i'm using to type this message and it didn't work.