soulbyul

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2010
Hello, I'll start by listing my specs,

585w psu, 40a on the 12v
9600 gt
1gb ram
amd athlon x2 (dual) 4200+

Hey guys, I have a strange stuttering problem with modern warfare 2 and starcraft 2 (these games are for example because i play them). Well before everything I borrowed a 9400 gt from my friend and when I played modern warfare 2 or Starcraft 2, I had an okay fps, BUT my computer did not lag/stutter so much. However, after I upgraded to a 9600 gt, I put the settings of modern warfare 2 on high. With that I got some major stuttering problems when a big patch of smoke came out or when I started shooting, etc. etc. Then I put the settings back to normal however it still kind of stutters. This is not related to fps at all as I have a 50-100 fps. Also, my computer acts as if its hauling an elephant. The fans sound really loud and i feel like its working for its life. My hypothesis is because of my low ram. What do you guys think? Is it because of my cpu bottlenecking the gpu? Is it because of my ram?

Thank you for any and every help provided.

soulbyul

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2010

If you could tell me how to measure the heat while I'm gaming I would be more than glad to. And yes I have the latest drivers however you bring up a good point as I installed the drivers when I got the 9400 gt and used the same drivers with the 9600 gt. However, I did uninstall the drivers once I plugged in the 9600 gt and reinstalled the drivers, but I'm not too sure that anything significant happened. Do you think I should reinstall the drivers again, because there were about 4 nvidia programs such as nvidia physx etc. that I did not uninstall for fear of uninstalling something important. The only thing I reinstalled was the actual Nvidia Drivers.

Mithness

Distinguished
May 16, 2010