Sign in with
Your question

Need help deciding between 2 sock478 mboards RAID?

Last response: in Motherboards
August 5, 2005 2:38:19 AM

Hi All,

I've came across a FREE P4 2.8C CPU that I'm looking for a motherboard for.

My options are limited to two Asus boards. The Asus P4P800SE and a P4P800-E Deluxe. Both are socket 478 MB's.

***I'm sure it's obvious that I'm a RAID noob! Oh, and BTW, this system will get me back into PC gaming.

The big difference between the two is the fact the P4P800SE only has the Intel ICH5R SATA RAID controller, while the P4P800-E Deluxe has the Intel RAID controller in additon to a Promise 20378 RAID controller, which will support 2 UDMA Drives and/or 2 more SATA drives.

Regardless of which MB I choose I plan to install WIN XP on two (2) new 80GB SATA drives in a RAID 0 config on the ICH5R controller.

My dilemma is that I would like a separate hard drive with 160GB or more space to archive my CD collection.

So here's what I THINK my options are:

(I'm eager to hear what other options are out there and what's the best choice performancewise for me. Oh, and cost is a factor, however, I expect the cost for whatever route will carry a similar cost.)

Option 1-

Get the P4P800SE MB.
Install XP on the 2 x 80GB ICH5R RAID 0 array.
Get a 160GB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive for music.

Option 2-

Go with the P4P800-E Deluxe.
Install XP on the 2 x 80GB ICH5R RAID 0 array.
Install one (1) 160GB SATA drive on the Promise controller for music (can I do this? or must they be installed in pairs?).

Regarding the Primary and Secondary IDE channels, I want to reserve those for copying CD's on the fly. As long as it wouldn't interfere with this I suppose another option is to put a 160GB IDE HD on one channel.

If I left some of the motherboard specifications out here's links to more info:

P4P800SE
http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=P4P800 SE&langs=09

P4P800-E Deluxe
http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=P4P800-E Deluxe&langs=09