CPU Support on a 440BX based mainboard

mlg

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2005
Im helping a friend building a extremly low budget system for web browsing/email and stuff like that. (Total budget including screen, keyboard and mouse maximum 150 Euros.)
As a starting point for this Ive bought an old Fujitsu Siemens 661 with a FS D1107A mainbord (<A HREF="http://manuals.fujitsu-siemens.com/peridocs/sysboard/A26361-D1107-Z120-US.pdf" target="_new">manual</A>). Right now there is a old PII (233MHz, I belive) on it, but the board supports (much?) faster CPUs.
The board has a 440BX northbrige on it and is a slot1 board.
According to the manual the board supports CPUs up to PIII@6*100MHz (Katmai core if im not mistaken?), but is it possible to use even faster CPUs than that? According to <A HREF="http://www.pcmech.com/show/chipsets/3/" target="_new">this page</A> the 440BX was very long lived. I have no experience with Intel CPUs and m/bs at all, but I have quite a lot of experience in running old AMD boxes horribly much faster than they ever were supposed to run. :)
So here's finally the question; If I buy a slot 1 --> socket 370 convertor, is it possible to use any socket 370 CPU or do the bios/mb specificly have to support that multiplyer/core?
According to the manual you set the CPU speed with jumpers, but it also says that if the CPU is locked (like I suppose all "high end" socket 370 CPUs are?) you dont need to set the speed correctly with those jumpers. The only problems I can see is that I have to limit myself to 100MHz FSB CPUs, because I doubt there is a setting for 133MHz FSB. And the secound problem is core voltage. Katmai (max supported according to manual) uses 2.0 v, coppermine uses 1.7 and Tualin uses 1.5v. It would really be great to whack in a 1.4GHz CPU in this system. :D But is it possible?

mlg

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2005
Thanks for the reply. :)

You'd have to check the FS website for BIOS updates on that particular board with regarding supports for Coppermine.