Can I use external hard drives instead of console hard drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex The PC Gamer

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2007
Hi guys,

I am a PC Gamer at heart but now that I have a new entertainment system at home, I find it more convenient to buy a console (more for my girlfriend and watching movies).

I'm seeing all these deals for the XBOX 360 with 4 GB hard drive or the PS3 with a fairly small hard drive and I would much prefer buying my own 250 GB hard drive than to pay for the price of the consoles hard drive (which are way too expensive).

My question is...can I buy, say, they XBOX360 4GB Model and add an external hard drive to install games, etc...or am I stuck with only 4 GB of storage for all entertainment on the XBOX? Same question goes for the PS3.

Thanks, I'm fairly new to console hardware.

Solution
Not a problem.

For the Xbox just make sure the USB drive is formatted as FAT32 and you're away. Be aware though that FAT32 is an old file system technology and is limited to individual file sizes of 2GB (technically it's 4GB and many sites state this, but I have NEVER been able to create or copy a file to FAT32 drives larger than 2GB).

The same applies to the PS3, HOWEVER...

The PS3 has been designed to allow user-upgradable hard drives. There's nothing special about them, simply 5400RPM 2.5" laptop drives. So you can get yourself a dead cheap PS3 Slim, spend £45 on a 500GB Western Digital Scorpio Blue (for example) and swap them out.

I don't know if there's any firmware limit in the PS3, but friends of mine are running 320GB and...

LePhuronn

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2007
Not a problem.

For the Xbox just make sure the USB drive is formatted as FAT32 and you're away. Be aware though that FAT32 is an old file system technology and is limited to individual file sizes of 2GB (technically it's 4GB and many sites state this, but I have NEVER been able to create or copy a file to FAT32 drives larger than 2GB).