Building my own

G

Greetings -
I am a programmer and I’m hardware-savvy enough to install add-in cards, but I’ve never touched the subsystems in a PC.
Having had some rotten experiences dealing with brand-name machines (HP!), I’ve decided to build my own this time. I need some advice.
I’d like to get a BIG box with lots of power and drive bays (and room to get my fingers in around the components!) and install in it a motherboard and CPU, video and sound cards, controller(s) and drives of several varieties, NIC, etc.
I need recommendations for the basic components - the motherboard and CPU.
I’d like to get just the most basic, but high end, motherboard - i.e., no added on-board stuff.
I’d prefer to add my own choices for video, networking, controllers and sound, etc. (Is this odd or unreasonable?)
And I’d like to get the best, reasonably-priced CPU in the range of 1 GHz.
I know - everybody’s going to tell me to get the AMD, but I’d like to be as compatible as possible with multi-OS setups with Microsoft’s Win2000, WinNT, WinME, Win98 and Linux, and Microsoft’s applications and development environments, and maybe some ORACLE.
Are there any issues that would prevent the AMD from performing at least as well in all respects as the PIII? What are they?
Do I need to provide more information about what I’m looking for?
Looking forward to your response(s), woggie
pwilliam@futureshop.com
woggie00@home.com

LTJLover

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Well first of all, if you look at Tom's benchmarks you will see that Linux compilation is way faster on AMD thunderbirds than on P3 or P4. I use all AMD now-a-days after being ripped off by Intel. I bought my bro a P3 700 for his bday. $200 CPU and my friend's Duron 700 kicks its ass for $60. But anyways, I can suggest some components that I like. I'm sure others will throw in their 2 cents as well. But hey here is my opinion:
(note: I have practically no experience with newer intel boards, so I will only discuss AMD boards)