Razer BlackWidow mechanical gaming keyboard

bertimus

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2010
What are y'alls thoughts on this keyboard?

I'm looking into buying a new keyboard for gaming (mmo's and FPS's) and I saw this mechanical keyboard. I've never used a mechanical keyboard before, so it seems like a cool, different new option.

Are there any distinct advantages or disadvantages that you guys have seen with this?

Any conveniences/inconveniences that you experienced?

here's a link: http://store.razerzone.com/store/razerusa/en_US/pd/productID.211324200/categoryId.49136200/parentCategoryId.35156900

Generally speaking mechanical keyboards are great for their tactile feedback and typist really like that since they do not have to guess whether for not they actually pressed the key or no. I think the Blackwidows use cherry black switches; if not then cherry blue switches.

If I were to buy one, I think I would prefer the Blackwidow Ultimate keyboard. However, I would need to try out the keyboard before making such a decision. I generally do not want a noisy computer component of any type so I would need to tryout a mechanical keyboard before buying one.

vapezilla

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2009

WHATEVER YOU DO DONT BUY THE RAZER. I LOVE Razer mice, the deathadder rocks. but when it comes to buying a good Mechanical keyboard then buy a brand that knows their ***. I own 3 mechanical keyboards (1 is strictly used for typing and the other 2 are strictly for gaming)
1. Happy Hacking Keyboard Professional 2 (HHKB PRO 2) it uses topre switches which is AWESOME for typing but SUCKS BALLS for gaming. I bought it from here http://elitekeyboards.com/products.php?sub=pfu_keyboards,hhkbpro2&pid=pdkb400b this keyboard has 6 key rollover