ja9g08

Distinguished
Feb 8, 2011
Hi,

I am new to PC gaming. What are some of the best controllers out there and what are the best value for money?

Thanks

Metwinge

Distinguished
May 9, 2010
360 Wireless pad with adapter is the best choice imo.

Cant comment on Iceclcok choices as ive never used them but im sure they are good as logictech are well known for good products

alienzander76

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2010
I use the 360 wireless with adaptor. I love it, mainly because I game 50% of the time on the 360 and the other half on my PC, so it keeps the feel of the controller no matter where i'm at. Plus, the reciever can link to any 360 controller so, if you've got any extra 360 controllers, you'll always have a spare if it breaks. I like logitech's stuff but opted for the 360 controller to maintain feel between the 2 systems. I say go somewhere that lets you handle the controller and see how it feels. Everybody hasd a different preference for feel. That's the most important factor followed closely by ratings and reviews.

I would say the 360 gamepad as well, although I have a PS3 so I use my Dual Shock. But it's a pain in the ass because you need to do some trickery to get it to work, as Sony doesn't have any official drivers/support

I recommend between the XBox 360 Wireless PC + USB receiver and the Logitech F710, and possibly the Razer Onza. There are Pros and Cons.

Somebody's review: http://compactiongames.about.com/od/hardware/tp/gamepads.htm

My Pros and Cons:

XBox 360 wireless PC:
Pros:
- Works very nicely.
- USB receiver supports up to FOUR controllers.

Cons:
The standalone PC USB receiver is no longer being manufactured. Stock is almost gone. After that you have to buy something from CHINA or purchase the entire Controller + USB receiver kit.

The Microsoft USB receiver is known to have high failure rates, especially with an internal, non-replaceable fuse. So it's unreliable AND they're dropping it?

Logitech F710: