ASUS A7M266 probs...

maggzy

Distinguished
Mar 14, 2001
I have a huge problem. Being a newbie, I messed around with my BIOS and now my system won't even POST.

Here are my specs:

AMD Athlon 1Ghz 266FSB
ASUS A7M266 MOBO
128 MB Samsung PC2100 DDR SDRAM
30 Gig Quantum Fireball ATA100 HD 7200 RPM
Nvidia GEForce 2 MX no TV out.
Soundblaster Live! with latest liveware 3.0
Windows ME
Sony 24X CD-ROM
Backpack CDRe-Write 4X/2X/24XNo modifications.

So here's exactly what I did: After reading everything about DDR and FSB frequencies, I got curious when during the POST it looked like my memory was being listed as PC1600 not PC2100 like the store said. I checked it out and this is what is printed on the Mem stick itself:
Samsung 046
128 MB 16X8
DDR 200
K4H280838-B TCAO

I couldn't find this stick listed anywhere on the Samsung site...

Anyway, I went into the BIOS and set the FSB to 133mhz from 100, and POOF! black screen. Waited for like 5 mins, still nothing. Monitor doesn't even come out of suspend. Turned system off and back on. Still nothing, even though the mobo manual says that if the system cannot accept the frequency change it will boot up in safe mode.

How am I supposed to fix it if I can't even do anything!!!!

I removed everything except the Geforce and still nothing.

Can anyone suggest what to do?

Thanks

<font color=blue>Maggzy</font color=blue> :wink:

G

You need to reset the cmos. By removing the jumper on the motherboard and shorting the cmos. It's easy to do , I done it 5 times on my motherboard trying to increase my speed. Make sure your processor is the 266 compatiable. Mine wasn't. I had to send it back and get the rite one. It has the same name so I got confused when I ordered it. But my symtoms were indentical. Look in the motherboard manual I think in the hardware setup something about forgetting your password. Dont worry it's fixable, But your going to have to check your processor if it wont do 266 it will hang on start up.

Zoe Crist // Q20