Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Desktop equivalent to XPS 15?

Last response: in Video Games
April 19, 2011 8:09:31 AM

I'm looking at buying/building a new gaming computer. I will be playing it on my big screen, which is only 1366x768, though, so I don't need something powerful enough for Crysis at 1080p or anything. Dell's XPS 15 notebook can be ordered with the GT 540M 2GB video card and a Core i5-2410m, which seems pretty capable on notebookcheck.net. Of course, I could build a desktop solution and get much better gaming performance for the same price. But, since I'm limited to like 720p, maybe the XPS is still a good choice.

So here's my question: If we take the XPS as the maximum performance, I still guess that I'd have to spend like $800 for a comparable desktop. Is that right? Since the laptop is like $1000, it's close enough for me to get the advantage of portability. A $600 desktop might change my mind, though...

Here's my estimate: (I'm still a bit new to building.)
Motherboard - $100-$150
CPU - $200
RAM - $75
HDD - $75
Case - $50
Power - $50
Video - $100
Windows - $100
DVD - $50

Thanks!

More about : desktop equivalent xps

April 19, 2011 9:36:13 PM

So, a bit more digging and here's a setup that might fit the bill.

CPU - AMD Phenom X2 560 - $110
Motherboard - Asus M4A78LT-M LE - $60
Video Card - ATI 5670 - $100

I could finish the rest of the build for like $300.

What do you all think? How does it compare with a $1000 laptop in gaming?

And how does this work for value? Like, if I spent $20 extra on something, would I get a significant increase in performance?
m
l
April 19, 2011 10:38:12 PM

atm if you spend 1000 on a gaming laptop you can get similar performance from a desktop for under 600
m
l
Related resources
April 20, 2011 8:25:00 AM

My recent build is:

Asus P8P67-Pro Motherboard
i5-2500K CPU
4GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
1TB HDD
Nvidia GFX 560Ti
750W XFX PSU