Building a Gaming Computer

HeThatMangles

Distinguished
May 8, 2011
Hello, I was shopping through Best Buy looking for a good gaming laptop to replace my MacBook that's starting to crap out on me. When I realized that there's no way to get a viable gaming laptop, I began fielding the idea of building a desktop computer in my mind, with a small netbook to complement it. I looked up videos of it and it looks like something I could do. This is my first time building a computer though, so I need help. Every other site on the planet sent me here. So for a decent computer (let's say, can run Brink at recommended settings), what can I expect to pay? And how would the project be difficulty-wise? I have a basic knowledge of computers, but nothing too in-depth. I'm good with software, but I've never mucked about the hardware side of things. Thanks in advance for the help.

Solution
I'd expect to pay 1000-1500 for a gaming computer with specs for brink. Build wise it isn't too bad if you read some help guides and follow the manuals. I know my first build had me scared half to death but I did it right the first time and didn't have anything that was DOA. Troubleshooting the first build sounds awful. Tom's has a 1000 build which is great for what you want or you can put a thread in the system section and why_me will give you a build in no time flat :p

crewton

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2011
I'd expect to pay 1000-1500 for a gaming computer with specs for brink. Build wise it isn't too bad if you read some help guides and follow the manuals. I know my first build had me scared half to death but I did it right the first time and didn't have anything that was DOA. Troubleshooting the first build sounds awful. Tom's has a 1000 build which is great for what you want or you can put a thread in the system section and why_me will give you a build in no time flat :p

Solution

HeThatMangles

Distinguished
May 8, 2011