Sign in with
Your question

Low Quad Core Optimization For Recent Gaming

Last response: in Video Games
June 3, 2011 9:11:30 PM

Hello everyone. I have a problem here. And more that a problem something i realized over the last moth.

I recently got an nVidia GTX 560 Ti (nice card by the way) and i started playing some of the most demanding games in the market.
Witcher 2 for example, Crysis 2.

I realized that my GPU was not over 50 or 60% usage, and average was like 35% usage. Why y asked myself.
I started thinking that maybe my CPU was the bottleneck. I got a Quad-Core Q8300 2.5Ghz @ 2.67Ghz. (This is the Quad-Core with big cache size, so it should be fast, it has been even placed to over-run Cores i5 on a lot of benchmarks).

Well here is the thing, i said IT COULD ME MY BOTTLENECK! and started to check all of todays game CPU usage, Dirt 3, Witcher 2, Crysis 2, Shogun 2, etc.

Here is the result:

- Non of the games used more than 50 or 60% of CPU in all cores. So the average usage of the CPU is 50% at all times.

Conclusion:

- Non of today games uses 4 Cores really. They use only 2 Cores and the windows shares the load over the four cores, but only 50% to each. 4*50% = 200% - 2*100% = 200%

- So at the end, its not important if you have a 4 Core or 8 or even 16 cores. You will not be using them. Non of this games will use 100% of full 4 Cores QuadCores, not even a close 85%.

Again in the end the only thing that wins is the CPU speed per core. In this case 2.67Ghz.

Example:
Having a 2.67Ghz Quad-Core is the same like having a 2.67Ghz Core 2 Duo for gaming. Tested it out myslef. SAME FRAME RATES.

Even a Core i7 Downclocked to 2.67 Ghz Results in the same frame rates using same video card (GTX 560Ti). The only difference is that a Core 2 Duo will use 100% of CPU, the Quad 50% of CPU and the 8 core i7 25% of CPU. In case you video card(s) meets the requirements.