Sign in with
Your question

slow startup of os and programs

Last response: in Windows XP
March 23, 2005 2:23:34 PM

I'm not sure what the problem is with my computer. I am not a techie.....just a consumer. I have two 40gig hard drives.(Dell computer)(C drive is 4 years old)F drive is one year old. They both have about 25% left free space. In the last few weeks, every strike of a key is delayed as if the brain is not engaged. Eventually things open.
45 seconds from power button to sign in. The same goes for opening outexp6,looking at emails, Microsoft Outlook calendar, Msft Word, Money Things seem to be freezing and eventually open or respond. Even if I do control, alt, delete, it takes about 25 seconds for anything to happen. I have ez armmor antivirus.(Computer Assoc) full scan of both drives takes 12 to 14 hours. (400,000 files). No viruses according to them. I did a defrag for about 6 hours. Helped very little.
Yes, I have installed SP2 from msft disk. That was at least 4-5 months ago.

Any suggestions? I need to buy a new computer with at least 250 gig. My photos alone are about 12 gig. Any suggestions? After reading some of the technical sites, I realize I don't have the background as many of those who are on this site, however, I would really appreciate any help. I do not do gaming. I have a cable modem. excellent road runner.

I also bought a few years ago a tape travan seagate backup. never used. Unfortunately the store wouldn't take it back. I could not use it. I now realize I must have an external hard drive for backup. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

More about : slow startup programs

March 23, 2005 2:36:08 PM

<A HREF="http://www.lexundesigns.com/LexunFreeware/index.htm" target="_new"> RegScrubXP v.3.25 </A>

and

<A HREF="http://www.hoverdesk.net/freeware.htm" target="_new"> RegSeeker </A>

are some good utilities for cleaning registry.