Sign in with
Your question

Advice needed

Last response: in Motherboards
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
May 28, 2001 9:18:09 AM

I have seen some posts that are close but nothing that hits the nail on the head. As a newbie I need some advice. I am building a system on the A7A266 Mobo from ASUS unfortunately the manual has a different Dip Switch layout than the board that I have. Now I plan to use jumperless setup but the thing wont POST, everything gets juice, fans run, drives light etc. The floppy doesnt light and I get no beeps at all. According to the manual all Dip Switches need to be Off in order to use the Bios setup. I'm at a loss, Any ideas would be helpful.

Specs: Asus A7A266, AMD Athlon 1.2Ghz Samsung DDR2100 256Mb Asus V7700 Geforce2 GTS, Soundblaster Live Value, Kingston NIC, IBM deskstar 60gb HDD Pioneer Slot DVD, Yamaha 2100 16x CDRW. Oh and the heatsink / fan is a Thermaltake VolcanoII.
Again any help would be appreciated. Maybe I am barking up the wrong tree, could it be some sort of conflict not related to the Dip Switches?
Thanks Again.

Not sure What I'm looking for but I will know it when I see it.

More about : advice needed

May 28, 2001 10:00:13 AM

Im not too familiar with that board but can offer some general advice.
first of all, when building a new system for the 1st time, its generally considered good practice to boot with only the minimum components- ram, hard drive, vid card. so remove all other cards and disconnect any cd drives and the floppy from the board. Clear cmos, and double check in the manual about the jumpers, setting the jumpers manually may be an option at first just to see if you can get it to post, once up and running you should be able to alter the jumpers. Someone who is more familiar with that board will hopefully post soon and give you more options, but in the meantime I would give these things a try.

Next time you wave - use all your fingers
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
May 29, 2001 3:12:12 AM