anything I should know that may be overlooked

c959

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2001
I am building an AMD Thunderbird 1.333 GHZ with an Asus A7A266 motherboard with 1 256 MHZ DDR RAM module. I have never built a system before, but I have read a few online guides and it looks pretty straight forward. -I am now in the process of installing all of the components into the case.

Is there anything I need to know that is often overlooked by 1st timers building a computer that could fry the hardware?
I have the motherboard grounded to the case by the metal spacers that the motherboard screws into. Somewhere I think I heard the motherboard should be insulated from the chasis by plastic washers? Is this true?

-Also, should I configure the Bios and system 1st with a 2D PCI video card- then later install my Geforce 2 Pro AGP? I read in the Bios setup guide that the AGP is setup in the BIOS. Does that mean that an AGP video card wouldn't work/be ruined if it was plugged in before the BIOS was setup?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You.

evil_homer

Distinguished
May 29, 2001
I have never had a problem with having to use plastic washers on the metal mounting posts, but what do I know.
About your video card. I have found that when you first build a computer it is best to start it up with the least amount of components, I avoid putting in sound, network, and any other card that would just make windows confused on the initial setup procedure. Anyways, I would actualy like to hear if you have any problems with your A7A board, because I am considering buying one myself.

PC load letter.....

G

I agree with evil_homer. Just start off with little components as possible-video card, floppy drive, hard drive, cd-rom drive...everything else can hold off 'till windows (or whatever OS your using) is installed.