Console vs PC: Resource Utilization

This is something that has made me very curious for a while now. Now a PS3 has something like 7800GTX(6 Year Old). A decent gaming PC is 5770/GTS450 and above which I think is much more powerful than that. Then how do developers use such crappy hardware and produce masterpieces like GT5 and Uncharted. My point is

I know that PC games look better than Consoles BUT considering the difference in hardware, If PS3 can pull off a GT5 and an Uncharted 2, Shouldn't PC games be Photorealistic by now. There should be no need for 'comparison Shots'. PC graphics should be at least 10x better considering the raw processing power. Its not like PC hardware is not pushed, you still need a minimum 150$ GPU to run latest games at high(that too at low res),and for for Ultra and high res you need say GTX560.
Please explain to me how this little piece of hardware

can still produce comparable graphics to those produced by this Monster

I am a noob and this is just a guess - Is it because the middleman called 'Windows' doesn't allow the games to extract every bit of power from the PC hardware? If so, what would happen if you don't have to boot Windows at all. If there is a special OS just for Gaming (it may be a part of Windows that you boot into, a Game Mode, say).It may also help combat Piracy(I think). I have always felt that since every software on the consoles INCLUDING THE OS is optimized for gaming, does it produce these beautiful graphics.

Is there even little sense to what I am saying or is it just outright wrong?
7 answers Last reply
More about console resource utilization
  1. There are a few things to consider when comparing. As that article talks about, there is significant overhead when dealing with PC's. There are tons of different hardware configurations, and the dev's can't develop for each and every combination there are just too many. Drivers and DirectX deal with the differences without the dev's having to, for the most part.