AMD Thunderbird 1.4 + ASUS A7M266 question!

G

Hey guys!

This is my first time posting on this forum, so I apologize in advance if I breach some sort of ettiquete.

I just received my A7M266 in the mail yesterday and I went to work putting my system together. Now, I'm in no way a guru when it comes to putting systems together, so that's why I am asking for some advice. As far as I can tell, I have everything configured correctly, but hopefully someone can help me out.

For some reason, my computer hangs up before successfully launching the OS (currently Win98 until I can find Win2k Pro). It only does this if I have JumperFree mode enabled and use BIOS to change the frequency to 133 Mhz (which is what my cpu is supposed to run...right?). I have not yet used the DSCKF switches because I don't know the configuration to use for a Thunderbird 1.4. When I use the "safe mode" version and set the frequecy to 100 Mhz, it will run fine, but the CPU only clocks at 1050 Mhz. The BIOS version I am currently running is 1003, the latest on ASUS' website.

Is it possible that the CPU is not getting enough voltage? According to my manual, the VIO is supposed to be set at 3.30 volts by default, but when the mobo came it was preset at 3.45 volts. The manual says to run things at default if you won't be overclocking, so that's why I changed the voltage to 3.30. The VIO1 is also set at the default value of 2.7 volts.

I'm reluctant to "test" things out for fear of destroying something.

Again, I'm not the most experience system builder, but you have to start somewhere. If anyone needs anymore info, please let me know. Here are my system specs:

AMD Thunderbird 1.4
Asus A7M266 motherboard
512 MB PC2100 DDR RAM from Crucial
ThermalTake Volcano II heatsink w/fan
"Athalon Approved" 350 watt power supply

IBM Deskstar 60 GXP 40 GB HDD
Sony 52x CD ROM
Yamaha 16x10x40 CDRW
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy drive
Hercules Game Theater XP
VisionTek GeForce 3
3Com network card